Previous Entry Share Next Entry
DC flisties: tell Mayor Gray not to balance our budget on the backs of the poor.
freaked out bill
jaynells
The Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless has put together a call-in which is going on RIGHT NOW, from 9:00am - 12:00pm. They're calling on DC residents to call (or email) their council members and ask them not to balance DC's 2012 budget on the backs of the poor. 60% of the budget cuts, as of now, come from human services that aid the District's neediest residents.

We urge you to raise your voice and call upon the DC Council to increase FY 2012 spending for homeless services by $20.5 million, so all shelter programs stay open. Let the council know that our community will not stand by to watch those few remaining threads of the District’s safety net be shredded.

Email Message for City Council Members

Subject: Don’t Decimate Homeless Services!

Body of email:
I am asking that the D.C. Council increase the Mayor’s proposal for homeless services spending by $20.5 million in order to maintain the current level of homeless services and avoid life-endangering cuts.

If the D.C. Council enacts the Mayor’s proposed budget as is, the Department of Human Services (DHS) will likely be forced to close all shelters for single men and women except during hypothermia season. While some family shelters will remain open, DHS will be unable to place any newly homeless families in shelter except during hypothermia season. This will put over 300 District families and 1200 District single men and women on the streets, endangering the lives of children and vulnerable adults and increasing costs to the District in terms of emergency room visits, police and Child and Family Services involvement, and other government services.

This is simply unacceptable. Please increase the Mayor’s proposal for homeless services spending by $20.5 million (without cutting other life-saving programs) so that the current level of services for our neighbors facing a housing crisis can be maintained.

Sincerely,

Your Name and Address
____________________________________

Kwame Brown (Chairman) 724-8032 or kbrown@dccouncil.us
Vincent Orange (soon to be at-large) 529-1962 or vo40@aol.com or action@orangeatlarge.com
David Catania (at-large) 724-7772 or dcatania@dccouncil.us
Phil Mendelson (at-large) 724-8064 or pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Michael Brown (at-large) 724-8105 or mbrown@dccouncil.us
Jim Graham (Ward 1) 724-8181 or jim@grahamwone.com
Jack Evans (Ward 2) 724-8058 or Jackevans@dccouncil.us
Mary Cheh (Ward 3) 724-8062 or mcheh@dccouncil.us
Muriel Bowser (Ward 4) 724-8052 or mbowser@dccouncil.us
Harry Thomas, Jr. (Ward 5) 724-8028 or hthomas@dccouncil.us
Tommy Wells (Ward 6) 724-8072 or twells@dccouncil.us
Yvette Alexander (Ward 7) 724-8068 or yalexander@dccouncil.us
Marion Barry (Ward 8 ) 724-8045 or mbarry@dccouncil.us
Jen Budoff, Council Budget Director 724-8139 or jbudoff@dccouncil.us

To facilitate your group email, please cut and paste the addresses below:
kbrown@dccouncil.us; dcatania@dccouncil.us; pmendelson@dccouncil.us; mbrown@dccouncil.us; jim@grahamwone.com; vo40@aol.com; action@orangeatlarge.com; Jackevans@dccouncil.us; mcheh@dccouncil.us; mbowser@dccouncil.us; hthomas@dccouncil.us; twells@dccouncil.us; yalexander@dccouncil.us; mbarry@dccouncil.us; jbudoff@dccouncil.us; jsaucedo@DCCOUNCIL.US; nstreeter@DCCOUNCIL.US; AMAIER@DCCOUNCIL.US; byoung@dccouncil.us; kstogner@dccouncil.us; mbattle@dccouncil.us; dtolliver@dccouncil.us; kboardmanschroyer@dccouncil.us; abellanca@dccouncil.us; jdetaeye@dccouncil.us; cwoodland@dccouncil.us; yford@dccouncil.us; rwerner@dccouncil.us; sgrant@dccouncil.us; jfaust@dccouncil.us; Jholland@dccouncil.us; CMcPherson@DCCOUNCIL.US; smaguire@dccouncil.us; JPittman@DCCOUNCIL.US; NRodgers@DCCOUNCIL.US; callen@dccouncil.us; jrmeyers@dccouncil.us; vbonett@dccouncil.us; jclementssmith@dccouncil.us; ccampbell@dccouncil.us


Sorry for the super-last-minute notice.

For more information on Mayor Gray's budget shenanigans, check out The DC Fiscal Policy Institute.

Leave your comments over here at Dreamwidth! No account? Use OpenID. | comments
Tags:

Comments Disabled:

Comments have been disabled for this post.

?

Log in